State Federation Profile

NFRW Affiliation:1938
Local Clubs
Region 3
479 Total Members
55,401 Volunteer Hours


The Kansas Federation affiliated with the National Federation of Republican Women in 1938 and was divided into five districts with 45 clubs. Margaret Hill McCarter, a prominent Kansas write, is credited with founding the first Republican Women’s club in Kansas. According to state history, Kansas was the fourth state to have such an organization. Today, KFRW has 4 districts (the same as the U S House of Representative Districts).

The annual meeting of KFRW is held each year in conjunction with Kansas Day activities the last weekend in January. The spring board meeting is held in May or June and the Fall meeting is held in October or November. New officers are installed every other year in the even number years. Each district holds a spring meeting and a fall meeting.

Club members help staff the county and state headquarters, host candidate’s forums, assist with voter registration and grassroots work and participate in state Republican campaigns. Many clubs have members who will pick up voters and take them to the polls on election day.

The Kansas Federation provides community service through Kids Voting Program, scholarships, literacy programs, Veterans Day and Memorial Day services and be issuing letters to high school seniors urging them to register to vote and become politically active.

Kansas clubs are also involved in Caring for America projects from Easter Baskets for disadvantages children to goodie boxes to support our troops and everything in between. The clubs are also very involved in the Mamie Eisenhower Literacy Program and the Barbara Bush Literacy Action Program by donating books to schools, libraries and other institutions within their counties. Many clubs participate in the My Favorite Teacher contest.

In 2005 KFRW started a Scholarship Fund to be able to provide a scholarship each year to a young woman who is a college junior or senior majoring in Political Science, Public Administration or History. They must be a Kansas resident attending a Kansas college or university. The fund was established through the Greater Salina Community Foundation and all contributions are tax deductible. To make a contribution, please make your check payable to Greater Salina Community Foundation, c/o Brenda R. Smith, 1922 Foxtail, Salina, KS 67401. The first $1,000 scholarship was given in 2006 and in the spring of 2007 the second $1,000 scholarship was given.

KFRW strongly support the Coffee Cup Project and took their first recipient to the 2007 NFRW Convention in Palm Springs. Funds are already being raised for the 2009 NFRW Convention in Orlando by passing the coffee cup at all KFRW state meetings, as well as KFRW district meetings. Criteria has been established for clubs to nominate a person to receive the Coffee Cup proceeds to help them attend the convention.

Linda Smith
1922 Foxtail Drive
Salina, KS 67401

State President

Send a Message to the State President

Enter Your Name:

Enter Your Email Address:

Enter Your Message to the State President:

Before submitting this form, please type the color of the second character: