State Federation Profile

NFRW Affiliation:1955
Local Clubs
Region 5
655 Total Members
67,577 Volunteer Hours


The Arkansas Federation of Republican Women was founded in 1948 and affiliated with the NFRW in 1955. The mission of the AFRW is to promote an informed electorate through political education and to increase the effectiveness of women in the cause of good government through active participation. Another goal is to unite all of our efforts toward the continuation of a two-party system in the State of Arkansas.

This goal was accomplished and exceeded - in 2014 when the Republican Party made history by becoming the majority party in Arkansas. We elected Republicans in all seven constitutional offices, took control of the state Senate and House, and elected four US Congressmen and two US Senators! It was the first time in history that we swept the constitutional offices and the first time in 140 years to have a 100% Republican federal delegation. Of the 102 state races in which there was a Republican candidate, we were victorious in 94, resulting in a 92% average. We had a historic 15 female candidates elected in the state House, 4 in the Senate, and 2 in the capitol.

The Arkansas Federation clubs participate in voter registration, candidate recruitment, political rallies, forums and legislative day events. In addition, members participate in patriotic projects across the state, have a scholarship program for female high school seniors, essay programs, and support our military with various activities.

AFRW members encourage and empower women of all ages and backgrounds. We work with, and strengthen, the Republican Party of Arkansas, state legislators, and our local government officials. We have members holding offices at all levels of government.

AFRW will celebrate our 60th anniversary in 2015. Melonaie Gullick was elected as president for the 2013-2015 term.

Dara Samuel
4230 Libby Road
Heber Springs, AR 72543

State President

Dara Samuel, a life-long Republican, lives in the Little Red River area of Cleburne County, Arkansas, with her husband, retired USAF Major (Ret) Tom, and their two dogs. She has one daughter and son-in-law, and two granddaughters who are her pride and joy.

After retiring the first time in 2008, Dara became very involved in politics, joined the local Republican women's club, and within a year was elected President. During her four year term as Cleburne County Republican Women President, club membership was doubled, programs were established for visibility in the community, a scholarship was established for each of the four county schools, and fundraising was in the thousands of dollars each year.

In addition, the club participated in "Operation Gratitude" by assisting our military in Iraq and Afghanistan, and donated to the local women's shelter, as well as a pregnancy center for young women who wanted to keep their babies. She earned the NFRW award for most hours worked in Republican activities for the State of Arkansas in 2013, and Cleburne County Republican Woman of the Year in 2012.

She worked on campaigns for two Arkansas State Senators, a Supreme Court Judge, County Judge, and numerous other campaigns. Dara held both Third and First Vice President positions in the Arkansas Federation of Republican Women before being elected President in 2015.

Send a Message to the State President

Enter Your Name:

Enter Your Email Address:

Enter Your Message to the State President:

Before submitting this form, please type the color of the first character: